About Us



IX(B) Squadron WW 2 veterans got together and organised reunions in London. Of note was the successful reunion at the RAF Club, Piccadilly in the autumn of 1966. In 1972, Jim Brookbank sent a mail-shot to all known ex-IX(B) Squadron WW 2 veterans and there was great enthusiasm for a IX(B) Squadron Association to be formed.

The IX(B) Squadron Association was formed in 1975 by Jim Brookbank, a former IX(B) Sqn Lancaster Bomb Aimer.

The first Committee consisted of Jim Brookbank, Ron Goebel, Norman Sirman, George Pocock and Norman Wells.

Association Presidents have included Charles Cooper, Ron Dick, Alfie Ferguson and Sir Stuart Peach. The current President is Air Marshal Stu Evans.

Alfie Ferguson is the current Vice-President.

Jim Brookbank was Association Chairman for over 33 years. He was replaced by Air Commodore Spike Milligan, a former IX(B) Squadron Canberra and Vulcan Navigator. The current Chairman is Air Commodore Nick Hay.

Association Secretaries have included Norman Sirman, Bill Toomey, Brian Owen, David Higgs, Paul Lenihan and Dicky James. The current Secretary is Andy Holland.

Association Treasurers have included Jim Brookbank and Dicky James. The current Treasurer is Paul Lenihan.

Following a re-shuffle in the IX(B) Squadron Association Committee in December 2014 and January 2015, the current Committee are:


Air Marshal Stuart Evans CBE RAF


Group Captain A Ferguson RAF (Retd)


Air Commodore N J Hay OBE RAF


Group Captain A D Turk DFC RAF


Squadron Leader AK Holland RAF (Retd)


Wing Commander P J Lenihan MBE RAF (Retd)


Group Captain A D Turk DFC RAF


Chief Technician R D L Swanson RAF